History of Dombivli Gymkhana

Like any other Mumbai suburb, Dombivli grew when Mumbai statred bursting. However, while most remained a night shelter from where people can rush to Mumbai for work, Dombivli gained an identity of its own. Thanks to People whose ambitions spanned beyond personal and who believed in making life more beautiful by creating better community. As early as 1981, twenty five people with a view to create a cultural fabric for Dombivli, founded Dombivli Gymkhana. It become the biggest Gymkhana of

The first venture of Dombivli Gymkhana was swimming pool where the budding generation of Dombivlikar’s could train for competitive swimming. Inaugurated in 1985, this swimming pool is of semi Olympic standards; hence it has become the natural choice for district competitions. Today, Dombivli boast of talent that represents the state. Also, there are many who has swam not only the challenging Dharmtar-Gateway of India but English Channel as well. Dombivlikar’s taking it to national & International level swimming is a routine today.

By the year 2009, the gymkhana has registered 1600 Member from Thane Dist. Who can look forward to enjoy an unthought of leisure facilities for the whole family. The Gymkhana offers an impressive range of sports and leisure activities such as Swimming, Tennis, Table Tennis, Billiards, Chess, Card games, Carrom, Library, Badminton, Health Club with Gymnasium, Restaurant and Residential Rooms. The Gymkhana also has an AC Conference Hall, Jogging Track, Cricket and Athletics. What more would one ask for?

The Gymkhana membership is open to individuals, families and corporates, so as to give them the leisure times they desire and more importantly deserve.

Dombivli Gymkhana offers members well planned joyous events to come together. Along with the traditional festivals of Holi, Diwali Pahat, New Year Eve. and Navaratri, the rain dance is also celebrated with full gusto. All through the year, the Gymkhana holds various competitions and sports events. Since 1997, the Gymkhana organizes an event that adds to the revenue of Gymkhana, gives a platform to the myriad entrepreneurs around, and offers the visitors an opportunity to get acquainted with the latest products without going to Mumbai. That is, UTSAV.

Donations to Dombivli Gymkhana, which is registered under the Charitable Trust Act, are exempted under the section 80G of income tax. The elected members have a strong sense of commitment and work zealously and selflessly even without any kind of honourarium. They are constantly dreaming of adding to the over increasing list of Gymkhana activities.

  • Founders

      • Late Shri D.R. Kambli
      • Shri U.D.Mokashi
      • Late Shri Pramod R. Hardikar
      • Shri S.N.Bhoir
      • Shri R.T Bandodkar
      • Shri M. R. Chakradeo
      • Shri Ashok G. Heroor
      • Dr. A.D.Pradhan
      • Shri V.V. Gogate
      • Late Shri Balda Khare
      • Late Shri Nilmani Agarwal
      • Late Shri Aroon Bhagat
      • Shri P.R. Karnik
      • Dr. U. Prabhakar Rao
      • Dr.Yogesh Acharya
      • Shri Subhash K. Javalkar
      • Shri D.P. Mhaiskar
      • Shri S.T. Gupte
      • Shri P.D. Chodhary
      • Late Shri V.R. Ullengal
      • Late Shri Noor Nawab
      • Shri Ashok K. Bansal
      • Shri Meghjee Veera
      • Dr. Achyuth Nayak
      • Dr. N. D. Mokashi
  • Patrons

    • Shri Deshbandhu Kagzi
    • Shri Pandurang H. Bhoir
    • Late Shri Dattatray G. Bodas
    • Smt Sharda V. Ullengal
    • Shri Jitendra Agarwal
    • Dr. Kirtida A Pradhan
    • Shri Sonya S. Patil
    • Shri Vikas D. Patkar
    • Smt Sudha D. Mhaiskar
    • Late Ratan Juma Mhatre
    • Shri Jayant D. Mhaiskar
Managing Committee 2015-2018
Dr. Arvind Pradhan President
Dr. Vishwas PuranikVice President
Dr. Pramod BahekarHon.Secretary
Shri. M. R. ChakradeoTreasurer
Dr. D. H. NandaJoint Secretary
Dr. Dilip ThakurJoint Secretary
Dr. Yogesh AcharyaMember
Shri. Dilip BhoirMember
Shri. Shankar BhoirMember
Shri. Anand DicholkarMember
Shri. Tulshiram JoshiMember
Shri. Dilip KudalkarMember
Shri. Deepak MejariMember
Shri. D. P. MhaiskarMember
Smt. Sudha MhaiskarMember
Dr. N. D. MokashiMember
Shri. Ravi MokashiMember
Shri. U. D. MokashiMember
Dr. Achut NayakMember